NEWPORT CITY COUNCIL - APPOINTMENTS AT AGM - May 2016

Cabinet:

Post	Appointed
Leader & Chair of Cabinet	Cllr Debbie Wilcox
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Environment Sustainability and Transport	Cllr Ray Truman
Cabinet Member for Education & Young People	Cllr Gail Giles
Cabinet Member for Finance and Resources	Cllr Mark Whitcutt
CM for Community Services, Work and Skills	Cllr Roger Jeavons
Cabinet Member for Regulatory Functions	Cllr Robert Poole
Cabinet Member for Regeneration & Investment	Cllr John Richards
Cabinet Member for Adult Social Services & Housing	Cllr Paul Cockeram
Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Sport and Business Manager	Cllr Deborah Harvey

Opposition Spokespersons:

Post	Appointed
Leader of the Opposition	Cllr Matthew Evans
Deputy Leader	Cllr Margaret Cornelious
Education & Young People	Cllr David Williams
Community Services, Work & Skills	Cllr Tom Suller
Regeneration & Investment	Cllr Martyn Kellaway
Regulatory Functions	Cllr Margaret Cornelious
Environment, Sustainability & Transport	Cllr Richard White
Adult Social Services & Housing	Cllr David Fouweather
Culture, Leisure & Sport	Cllr Charles Ferris
Finance & Resources	Cllr Ray Mogford

Planning Committee: (8 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Independent)

Chair (Labour)	Clir P Huntley
Labour (Deputy Chair)	Cllr V Delahaye
Labour	Cllr O Ali
Labour	Cllr M Linton
Labour	Cllr J Mudd
Labour	Cllr R Hutchings
Labour	Cllr K Critchley
Labour	Vacant
Conservative	Cllr D Fouweather
Conservative	Cllr R White
Independent	Cllr C Evans

<u>Licensing Committee:</u> (8 Labour, 2 Conservative, One Independent)

Chair (Labour)	Cllr C Suller
Labour	Cllr J Guy
Labour	Cllr C Jenkins
Labour	Cllr E Garland
Labour	Cllr D Davies
Labour	Cllr M Rahman
Labour	Cllr T Watkins
Labour	Cllr H Thomas
Conservative	Margaret Cornelious
Conservative	Charles Ferris
Independent	vacant

<u>Audit Committee:</u> (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Independent)

LAY MEMBER CHAIR

Labour	Cllr RC Bright
Labour	Cllr H Thomas
Labour	Cllr J Guy
Labour	Cllr D Davies
Labour	Cllr E Garland
Labour	Cllr M Spencer
Conservative	Cllr R White
Conservative	Cllr R Mogford
Independent	Vacant
Lay Member (Chair)	Mr John Baker

^{*} Chair appointed by the Committee

<u>Democratic Services Committee:</u> (7 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Independent)

Chair (Conservative)	Cllr C Ferris
Labour	Cllr T Bond
Labour	Cllr M Linton
Labour	Cllr A Morris
Labour	Cllr D Mayer
Labour	Cllr J Mudd
Labour	Cllr K Thomas
Labour	Cllr T Watkins
Conservative	Cllr M Evans
Independent	Cllr C Evans

Scrutiny Committees:

Learning, Caring & Leisure (7 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Independent)

Chair (Labour)	Cllr J Guy
Labour	Clir S Mlewa
Labour	Cllr C Maxfield
Labour	Cllr E Garland
Labour	Cllr C Suller
Labour	Cllr M Spencer
Labour	Clir D Mayer
Conservative	Cllr D Fouweather
Conservative	Cllr C Ferris
Independent	Cllr K Whitehead

Streets Scene, Regeneration & Safety (7 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Independent)

Chair (Labour)	Cllr O Ali
Labour	Cllr D Davies
Labour	Cllr T Bond
Labour	Cllr M Rahman
Labour	Cllr K Critchley
Labour	Cllr P Huntley
Labour	Cllr S Mlewa
Conservative	Cllr M Cornelious
Conservative	Cllr M Evans
Independent	Cllr C Evans

Community Planning & Development

(7 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Independent)

Chair (Conservative)	Cllr D Williams
Labour	Cllr J Mudd
Labour	Cllr A Morris
Labour	Cllr V Delahaye
Labour	Cllr T Watkins
Labour	Cllr K Thomas
Labour	Cllr H Thomas
Labour	vacancy
Conservative	Cllr T Suller
Independent	Cllr J Cleverly

Standards Committee:

Cllr H Thomas	Labour appointment
Cllr J Guy	Labour appointment
Cllr D Fouweather	Conservative appointment

Also: Mrs H Taylor OBE (Chair), Mr J Pickering, Mr G Hancock, Mr P Westwood, Mr B John and Ms T Britton

SACRE: The Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education:

Cabinet Member for Education & Young People	Chair
Cllr A Morris	Labour appointment
Cllr C Jenkins	Labour appointment
Vacancy	Labour appointment
Cllr D Williams	Conservative appointment

Social Services Rota Visits:

Cllr Kate Thomas

Cllr Paul Huntley

Cllr R Hutchings

Cllr S Mlewa

Cllr O Ali

Cllr D davies

Cllr M Cornelious

Cllr C Ferris

Corporate Parenting Forum:

Chair (Labour)	Cabinet Member for Education and Young People
Labour	Cllr T Bond
Labour	Cllr D Davies
Labour	Clire M Linton
Labour	Cllr K Critchley
Labour	Cllr R Hutchings
Labour	Cllr C Maxfield
Labour	Cllr H Thomas
Labour	Cllr K Thomas
Conservative	Clir M Evans
Conservative	Clir T Suller

HR Appeals:

Members to be appointed to be used in rotation:

Cllr's Jane Mudd, Allan Morris, Malcolm Linton, Trevor Watkins, Tom Bond, Paul Huntley, Mark Spencer, David Mayer, Herbie Thomas, Kate Thomas, Debbie Davies; David Fouweather Charles Ferris, David Williams, Richard White

Employee Partnership Forum

- The Cabinet Member for Finance & Resources:
- CM for Community Services, Work and Skills;
- and Cabinet Member for Education and Young People

Champions:

Older Persons Champion: Cllr Trevor Watkins

Disabled and Vulnerable Persons Champion: Cllr Kate Thomas

Carers Champion: Cllr Cliff Suller Equalities Champion: Cllr O Ali

Member Development Champion: Deputy Leader

Poverty Champion: Cllr Tom Bond

Armed Forces Champion and Veterans Champion: Cllr Mark Spencer **Homelessness and Supporting People Champion:** Cllr Jane Mudd